You are here: About us

On 7th December 1994, a group of pilots got together in Frankfurt am Main to set up the "Mayday Foundation". The purpose of this charitable organization was to support aviators and their families through times of crisis. This support is both material and ideally in nature and is forthcoming regardless of cause, blame or judicial outcome. The Foundation has deliberately selected as its name the emergency call used in aviation: Mayday. Anyone transmitting this call is entitled to expect immediate assistance.

Our aim is to help our clients help themselves.

Pilots attending a briefing at the 1994 ILA who then went on to set up the Mayday Foundation.
Pilots attending a briefing at the 1994 ILA who then went on to set up the Mayday Foundation.
The actual occasion for the founding of the charity was a fatal accident at Berlin-Schönefeld airport in 1994 involving the Russian test pilot Alexander S. Vyatkin who died without leaving any provision for his family. The Foundation enjoys the support of many organizations and companies working within the German and international aviation industry.

The Mayday Foundation maintains a network of carers - pilots, flight attendants as well as professional psychologists who are trained in providing support after critical or highly stressful incidents and/or accidents (see CISM  -Critical Incident Stress Management).

The funds available to the Foundation essentially consisted of the 35,000 DM raised during the 1994 ILA. This sum was invested according to very strict legal criteria and the original capital remains intact. Aid is provided from the revenue it generates. Over and above these funds, every donation we receive goes directly towards providing help. All donations qualify for tax exemption, as we are a registered charity.

Any donations made as endowments come under a special category. These are also classed as donations for tax purposes but they increase the basic capital and must be invested long term. Only the revenue from these endowments may be used for the Foundation's charitable work, so this makes it possible for us to make long-term reliable plans for our projects and commitments.

The Honorary Board consists of the pilots Alice Deininger, Dr. Gerhard Fahnenbruck, Hans Rahmann, Alexander Scheller and the lawyer Ralf A. Schäfer. Honorary Executive Director is Günther Schweser.

Patron is the CEO of Airbus Group Dr. Thomas Ender.

The Mayday Foundation is a member of the International Critical Incident Stress Foundation, Inc. (ICISF) and of the German Association of Foundations (Bundesverband der Deutschen Stiftungen).

We do hope that we can count on your support and will be pleased to accept your donation, no matter how large or small:

 Account No: 4440, Frankfurter Sparkasse (Sort code 50050201)
IBAN: DE36 5005 0201 0000 0044 40, SWIFT-BIC.: HELADEF1822


 


Print version | Email

| Home | Contact | Imprint |

Stiftung Mayday
Frankfurter Strasse 124,
D-63263 Neu-Isenburg
Germany

Tel 49 (0) 700 77007701 - Fax 49 (0) 700 77007702
Email info@stiftung-mayday.de

Donations:
 Account No: 4440, Frankfurter Sparkasse (Sort code 50050201)
IBAN: DE36 5005 0201 0000 0044 40, SWIFT-BIC.: HELADEF1822



c/o balticcm.com

Sie sind hier: Die Stiftung

Die Stiftung Mayday wurde am 7. Dezember 1994 in Frankfurt am Main von Piloten ins Leben gerufen. Sie unterstützt in Not geratene Luftfahrer und deren Angehörige. Das geschieht materiell und ideell, und es geschieht unabhängig von Unfallursache, Schuldfrage oder einer versicherungsrechtlichen Klärung. In ihrem Namen trägt die Stiftung bewusst den Notruf der Luftfahrt: Mayday. Wer immer diesen Notruf aussendet, kann auf rasche Hilfe hoffen.

Ziel ist Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe.

Der Fall des russischen Testpiloten Alexander S. Wjatkin, der 1994 in Berlin-Schönefeld tödlich verunglückte und eine unversorgte Familie hinterließ, war der Anlass für die Gründung der Stiftung Mayday. Sie wird von mehreren Organisationen und Unternehmen der deutschen und internationalen Luftfahrt unterstützt.

Piloten des Pilot's Briefing der ILA 1994, die an der Gründung der Stiftung Mayday beteiligt waren
Piloten des Pilot's Briefing der ILA 1994, die an der Gründung der Stiftung Mayday beteiligt waren

Gemeinsam mit speziell geschulten Piloten, anderen Besatzungsmitgliedern und Psychologen unterhält die Stiftung Mayday ein Betreuungsnetz, das Flugbesatzungen nach kritischen und stark belastenden Vor- oder Unfällen zur Seite steht (s.a. CISM-Critical Incident Stress Management).

Basis der finanziellen Mittel, die der Stiftung seit ihrer Gründung zu Verfügung stehen, sind jene DM 35.000, die noch während der Internationalen Luft- und Raumfahrtausstellung ILA 1994 gesammelt und gespendet wurden. Dieses Vermögen (das seitdem erheblich vergrößert wurde) ist nach strengen gesetzlichen Regeln angelegt und bleibt ohne Abzüge erhalten. Aus seinen Erträgen wird Betroffenen geholfen. Jede Spende darüber hinaus fließt ebenfalls in die Hilfsmaßnahmen und ist steuerlich genauso abzugsfähig, da die Stiftung als mildtätig anerkannt ist.

Eine besondere Wirkung entfaltet jede als Zustiftung gekennzeichnete Spende. Sie ist steuerlich eine normale Spende, erhöht jedoch das Grundkapital und muss langfristig angelegt werden. Nur die Erträge aus dieser Anlage dürfen genutzt werden für die Stiftungstätigkeit, so dass zuverlässige langfristige Planungen, Projekte und Hilfszusagen möglich werden.

Die Stiftungsverfassung können Sie hier  einsehen oder als  PDF-Datei  herunterladen..

Der ehrenamtliche Vorstand besteht aus den Piloten Alice Bonaduce, Dr. Gerhard Fahnenbruck, Hans Rahmann, Alexander Scheller und dem Rechtsanwalt Ralf A. Schäfer. Ehrenamtlicher Geschäftsführer ist Günther Schweser.

Schirmherr ist der CEO der Airbus Group Dr. Thomas Enders.

Die Stiftung Mayday ist Mitglied:





Druckversion | Text als Email versenden

Stiftung Mayday
Hugenottenallee 171a   63263 Neu-Isenburg
Tel 0700 77007701*   Fax 0700 77007702*
info@stiftung-mayday.de

Spendenkonto: Frankfurter Sparkasse

IBAN: DE36 5005 0201 0000 0044 40  BIC: HELADEF1822

 * Maximalgebühr 12,4 Cent pro Minute
Preis für Anrufe aus dem deutschen Festnetz.
Bei Anrufen aus Mobilfunknetzen kann der Preis abweichen.



c/o balticcm.com